Somerset Singers Programme for 2017/18 Season

This season we are performing two of the “Greats” in the Oratorio Repertoire. We started in December with the magnificent music of Felix Mendelssohn telling the story of the Old Testament prophet “Elijah”. The Concert featured five soloists plus the Choir singing, once again, with the wonderful “Lochrian Ensemble”.

In contrast, the Spring 2018 Concert will be the “Mozart Requiem” and “Handel’s Foundling Hospital Anthems” that will both be accompanied on the Organ.

Date Programme Venue
9 December 2017, 7.30pm

16 June 2018

Felix Mendelssohn: Elijah
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Requiem
George Frideric Handel : Foundling Hospital Anthems
St Mary’s Church, Wedmore


St Mary’s Church, Wedmore


The Requiem in D minor, K. 626, is a requiem mass by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Mozart composed part of the Requiem in Vienna in late 1791, but it was unfinished at his death on 5 December the same year. A completed version dated 1792 by Franz Xaver Süssmayr was delivered to Count Franz von Walsegg, who commissioned the piece for a Requiem service to commemorate the anniversary of his wife’s death on 14 February.

The autograph manuscript shows the finished and orchestrated Introit in Mozart’s hand, and detailed drafts of the Kyrie and the sequence Dies Irae as far as the first eight bars of the Lacrimosa movement, and the Offertory. It cannot be shown to what extent Süssmayr may have depended on now lost “scraps of paper” for the remainder; he later claimed the Sanctus and Agnus Dei as his own.

Walsegg probably intended to pass the Requiem off as his own composition, as he is known to have done with other works. This plan was frustrated by a public benefit performance for Mozart’s widow Constanze. She was responsible for a number of stories surrounding the composition of the work, including the claims that Mozart received the commission from a mysterious messenger who did not reveal the commissioner’s identity, and that Mozart came to believe that he was writing the requiem for his own funeral.

In addition to the Süssmayr version, a number of alternative completions have been developed by musicologists in the 20th century.

The Somerset Choral Society will be performing using the second edition of the score published by TBA that is written for voices and orchestra but the performance will be accompanied on organ.

The Foundling Hospital Anthem (HWV 268), also known by its longer title “Blessed are they that considereth the poor” is a choral anthem composed by George Frideric Handel in 1749. It was written for the Foundling Hospital in London and was first performed in the chapel there. Handel wrote two versions, one for choir only and one for choir and soloists. Composed 10 years before his death, it was Handel’s last piece of English church music.

The Foundling Hospital Anthem is compiled from material originating in other works by Handel, including movements from the Funeral Anthem for Queen Caroline (1737), a sombre chorus that had been edited out of Susanna (1748), and most notably, the “Hallelujah” chorus from Messiah, which concludes the anthem. The Somerset Choral Society will be performing the version for choir and soloists.

The concert will be at 7:30pm on Saturday 16th June in St Mary’s Church, Wedmore and will be conducted by our Musical Director Ed Goater but our soloists and musicians will be advised:


Ed Conducting 4

Ed conducting at a rehearsal from his Perch